This is church…

I had been out of the loop for over a week with all the excitement around our house, but yesterday I did get to make a couple of pastoral visits. On my way to the second visit with Easter lilly in hand I received a call from a friend of the family of the person I was going to see. It happened that there was a life or death event that just took place in the family. As I arrived at the location, I noticed that one of the other family members were just showing up to convey the news. I will call it nothing short of divine that I was there at that time and place to be with this person in a great time of need and share a word of prayer and encouragement.

These past two weeks have shown me in a fresh and vivid way the reason we exist in community. Let’s just all have a group hug and be thankful!

Leave a Reply

