A post about doughnuts…sort of

Colossians 3:23 Work willingly at whatever you do, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people. 24 Remember that the Lord will give you an inheritance as your reward, and that the Master you are serving is Christ. (NLT-SE)

One of the biggest misnomers, lies, misunderstandings in our culture is that we have a secular life separate from our spiritual life.  Whether we are making doughnuts, retired, working in a hospital, teaching, a stay at home parent, or a clergy person, we all have the opportunity to give our COMPLETE lives in service to God.  I wonder what would change if we thought of our life as an integrated whole instead of a group of separate identities?

The key, for me at least, is to put things into my life that will constantly remind me to remain connected to God.  It is kind of like how my energy level reminds me of my need for caffeine!  Times of prayer, moments of Scripture, times of worship and service all have the ability, if I allow them, to keep me connected to God.

What are your disciplines that keep you grounded?  How do you stay connected?  Do you view your life as an integrated whole or as a sum or separate parts?

Gotta go.  It’s time to make the doughnuts…or for me, time to facilitate a small group meeting.

Leave a Reply

